My Own Worst Enemy

Image

Designing and developing online educational content is my primary role and, since I am the only one doing it within my organization, I generally do not have to worry about coordinating among different teams.  Until recently that is!  I am now suffering from scope creep and feeling a bit bewildered by it!

The project is to create an orientation lesson for clinical preceptors.  The course needs to be geared toward RNs and Emergency Department technicians who will precept EMT and Paramedic students.  The content focuses on scope of practice, performance requirements, and paperwork needs for both the student and the preceptor.  Objectives have been clearly outlined by management and a timeline has been established that gives me plenty of time to complete the project.

I just finished the initial version for approval and I feel like a complete amateur.  The reason is my own need to “…improve the project’s output as the project progresses” (Portny, Mantel, Meredith, Shafer, Sutton, & Kramer, 2008).  A project that started out as a simple narrated PowerPoint has become a multimedia festival with movies, animations, and a soundtrack!  This additional content was added strictly based on my desire to make the project more interesting and engaging, an admirable goal but the time commitment has pulled me from other duties.

The interesting aspect of this project is the reaction from the stakeholders.  I believe the design and content bar is set so low for online education that anything with some elements of thoughtful design is automatically considered “wonderful”.   I know I am sounding cynical here, but the interaction of this course with my own work has been enlightening.  I did not realize how changes to a project midcourse actually impact the timeline for deliverables.  While I agree with Lynch and Roecker that some changes “…must occur due to a change in vision, a change in the needs of the customer, even a sudden change in budget” (2007), but recognizing the risk to the overall project from these changes is critical to meeting a schedule.

So what have I learned and what am I going to do about it?  I have learned I am my own worst enemy!  I need to establish what my deliverables will be within the content design and stick to them.  New development with fancy software toys can wait until the next project unless absolutely necessary.  Also, establishing a change control process, as discussed by Lynch and Roecker, will help me control changes and keep track of project variations.

Overall I believe my workflow has improved with better prototyping, but I need to work on managing my own expectations and limit the amount of scope creep that occurs.

 

Resources

Lynch, M., Roecker, J. (2007).  Project management e-learning:  A handbook for successful design, delivery, and management.  London, UK:  Routledge.

Portny, S., Mantel, S., Meredity, J., Shafer, S., Sutton, M., Kramer, B (2008).  Project management:  Planning, scheduling, and controlling projects.  Danvers, MA:  John C Wiley and Sons

3 thoughts on “My Own Worst Enemy

  1. stewartwilliamh

    Don,

    As always your real world experience provides wonderful insight, and being your own worst enemy is another great example. I smiled when you said that the bar is set so low for online educational content that with some minimal design, it is “wonderful’. This has definitely been my experience when making some materials, but as you realized, it often adds on so much extra time that I shy away from it these days. I think that, with experience, you’ll find that happy medium between putting in a little bit of extra effort to improve the overall product but without going overboard, or without scope creep really impacting the project or work at hand. I know I am also in that same boat.

    Reply
  2. genahloger

    Don,

    Great blog post! Very insightful and a situation that most of us can relate to! Personally I know I focus too much on the graphics and look of what I am creating, but as a graphic designer I can’t help myself!!! I am finding the same thing with working on creating my online resume now. When I was doing my undergrad studying graphic design, we didn’t learn any web design or development, so I am having to teach myself that now in order to get ready for jobs after school. But, I’m finding the scope of my online resume and portfolio is getting out of control and beyond my current abilities as I am learning Dreamweaver and Flash. What you said in your last paragraph about establishing deliverables and sticking to them has really hit home. Being fancy can wait until later! Thanks for the reminder and as always for your insight in our class.

    Genah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

